SD Bullion Hot

http://www.silvercoins.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/e2/ac/78/sd-bullion-72-1422313433.jpg

User reviews

6 reviews with 3 stars

78 reviews

 
(63)
 
(4)
 
(6)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.6  (78)
 
4.6  (78)
 
4.5  (78)
 
4.4  (78)
Back to Listing
Ratings (the higher the better)
Price
Shipping Time
Customer Support
Buying Experience
Customer's Experience
Comments
6 results - showing 1 - 6  
 
Ordering 
 
Reviewed by |
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Price 
 
4.0
Shipping Time 
 
2.0
Customer Support 
 
2.0
Buying Experience 
 
2.0

Customer service after the sale not so good this time.

Incorrect order and lack of service once there is an error.
I ordered 25 Canadian silver maple leafs. They come from the mint in yellow top 25 count. What was delivered was 25 silver eagles. A green 20 count and five loose coins. I called and told what I got. The young lady had to check what to do and would call me back later that day or next morning. Three days past. Since I had heard nothing I figured they did not want to exchange or do anything. I would just move on, keep the Silver Eagles not bother to call back so trashed all the original packing material and figured I was done with SD Bullion forever. Three days later I received a call. First was told she tried to call me but no answer. In these days of cell phones on our hips, good quality caller ID and voice mail I dislike being lied to. Three days in customer service is an eternity.
Her best resolution was that I was to send her a check for the wrong silver eagles they sent me and then they would send me the correct order. Her goal was the additional sale. I did not want to send more money to the company that just got my order wrong and to the young lady that so easily lied to me just moments earlier. I had paid by check for the check discount. I offered to do this if I paid by credit card and they waved the credit card fee. At least I would have the protection of the credit card on the second order. My second choice was that I could pack this stuff up and send back to them and hope they would get it right the next time. Ok send me a pre-paid package and I will put it in. We don’t do that. OK I deal with some computer companies, walk into FedEx or UPS store with a number they pack and ship company has an account with them and I pay nothing. We don’t do that. SD Bullion does not pay shipping on returns. At this point she was going to place me on hold to talk to someone else, I told her I was on my way to an appointment and did not have time. I stayed on hold for about 3 to 5 minutes until I got to my appointment. Never heard any more from them.
The reality is the mistake was minor financially. 1 ounce silver eagle to a 1 ounce Canadian silver maple leaf. The difference was less than $1 per coin less than $25 in my favor. When she was placing me on hold I told her that I wasn’t interested in the time it was going to take to package and have two shipping cost. And they should leave it as is.
The only downside is I really wanted Silver Maples, my grandson liked the looks. Now I will buy them someplace else and they will cost me more since the spot price is up. All because someone at SD with the initials MT did not take enough interest to fill the order correctly. They lose a customer and if in fact they do have the lowest prices I loose on pricing in the future.
They do not seem like a bad company just limited in customer service this time when I had the problem.

Customer's Experience

Would you recommend this dealer?
Yes
Did you receive your order?
Yes
Total amount spent?
$100 - $1000
Was this review helpful? 
Reviewed by |
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Price 
 
0.5
Shipping Time 
 
5.0
Customer Support 
 
4.0
Buying Experience 
 
3.0

Silver Kruggerands

I have placed multiple orders with SDB, and had been very satisfied. My most recent purchase left me feeling gouged and I will not return out of principle. I purchased silver Krugerrands at their 'special' price of 20% off premium and free shipping ($58.18/each). The $58.18 is the highest price I ever saw them sell for (not a 20% discount); and they now sell at $37.49 on eBay by SBD. This is not a reflection of change in spot, as that is essentially the same. They just gouged the people that bought early. In all transparency, other dealers were similar, but not as great a price drop. I overpaid by 50%, due to their '20% off special', but will not fall for that again.

Customer's Experience

Would you recommend this dealer?
No
Did you receive your order?
Yes
Total amount spent?
$10000+
Was this review helpful? 
Reviewed by |
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Price 
 
5.0
Shipping Time 
 
2.0
Customer Support 
 
2.0
Buying Experience 
 
1.5

Poor Service

Poor service, very sluggish, there are other bullions who works faster than them. Wont buy next time.

Customer's Experience

Would you recommend this dealer?
No
Did you receive your order?
No
Total amount spent?
$5000 - $10000
Was this review helpful? 
Reviewed by |
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Price 
 
3.0
Shipping Time 
 
1.0
Customer Support 
 
3.0
Buying Experience 
 
3.0

Won't use again

Although prices were good, the fact they charge for shipping cancels the benefit. I will go with other that provide free shipping with a minimum order. Shipping was slooow. I ordered from another dealer the same day, and received my package one week sooner. Finally, because SD only used a flimsy padded envelope, the 10oz silver bar I received had significant damage. If you're going to make me pay for shipping I should get my order sooner and not damaged!

Customer's Experience

Would you recommend this dealer?
No
Did you receive your order?
Yes
Total amount spent?
$100 - $1000
Was this review helpful? 
Reviewed by |
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Price 
 
4.0
Shipping Time 
 
4.0
Customer Support 
 
3.0
Buying Experience 
 
0.5

SD bullion first buy

SD bullion had a special on random year Silver Eagles BU condition last week. Not sure if BU means the same thing everywhere. I've gotten coins from the gas station change drawer that were in more "BU" condition. When I buy BU I expect the same thing with any dealer, a "wow" factor when I open my box. Coins were tarnished from fingers, had blotchy marks on them,and quite frankly, nothing about them was brilliant. They did not even pack them tight enough so that they would not clink against each other in transit. I would not buy from them again, nor will I be calling in refund to pay for my ugly coins to be restocked. Very unfortunate, but I would rather keep shopping elsewhere.

Customer's Experience

Would you recommend this dealer?
No
Did you receive your order?
Yes
Total amount spent?
$100 - $1000
Was this review helpful? 
Reviewed by |
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Price 
 
4.5
Shipping Time 
 
4.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Buying Experience 
 
0.5

POOR SERVICE

I agree with poor service comments...
Song and dance customer service dept... and have (they THINK) an answer for everything !
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
COPY OF POSTING I MADE ON SD COMPLAINT SITE (demandforce), which was subsequently deleted... Hmmm I wonder why...
ONLY POSTS FAVORABLE COMMENTS... LET's SEE THE BAD ONES!!!!!

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX POSTING (was deleted)
Poor
Coins delivered improperly (wrong address), and subsequently given a a really poor explanation as to why....
Obviously, they don't have a method to overwrite original orders for any immediate call back corrections.. Arrrrgghhh.....
Their reply as to why my coins were misdelivered was an insult to my intelligence.
Their 10% off next purchase was also laughable... it just about covered gas moneyI spent going to where items were delivered to.

Not good.... particularly the way in which I was responded to.
The proper response should have been.. Yea, we messed up... you're right and we were wrong... Sorry..... Would have been FAR MORE ACCEPTABLE !
What's her name's response from the Consumer Relations Dept was truly Insulting....
I believe she deals with too many idiots,.. hence her patented reply.

Dr. G J M

PS. (40 coins - not the end of the world... but a preliminary order against an intended
follow-up order of 500)

Customer's Experience

Would you recommend this dealer?
No
Did you receive your order?
Yes
Total amount spent?
$100 - $1000
Was this review helpful? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6